UnconfirmedJoint Climate Change Adaptation Committee

29 August 2022

Joint Climate Change Adaptation Committee Minutes


Meeting held in the Council Chamber

36 Water Street, Whangārei

on Monday 29 August 2022, commencing at 1.00 - 3.00 pm




Chairperson, Northland Regional Council (NRC) Councillor, Amy Macdonald

Deputy Chairperson, Whangārei and Te Karearea Representative,  Delaraine Armstrong

Far North District Council (FNDC) Councillor, David Clendon

Te Uri o Hau and Te Roroa Representative, Fiona Kemp (online)

Whangarei District Council (WDC) Councillor, Anna Murphy (online)

Kaipara District Council (KDC) Mayor, Jason Smith (online) 1.22pm

NRC GM Community Resilience, Victoria Harwood (Ex-Officio)


I Tae Mai/In Attendance:

Full Meeting

NRC GM Community Resilience, Victoria Harwood (Ex-Officio)

NRC, Tom FitzGerald

NRC, Natalie Child

NRC, Nicky Hansen

NRC, Kim Peita (online)

WDC, Katy Simon

WDC, Sarah Irwin

WDC, Mark Scott

WDC, Kylie Pedersen (online)

FNDC, Simone Tongatule

FNDC, Donald Sheppard (online)

FNDC, Patariki Smith (online)

KDC, Jack Rudolph (online)

Iwi Rep, Snow Tane (online)

Iwi Rep, Alan Riwaka (online)

Level, Katy Mandeno

Level, Suz Epskamp

Member of public, Leslie Adcock


Part Meeting

NRC, Penny Smart 1.15pm

KDC, Louise Miller 1.21pm


Secretariat Note: An online attendee has not been included in attendance as their name was not fully recognised.


The Chair declared the meeting open at 1.03pm.

Ngā Mahi Whakapai/Housekeeping (Item 1.0)

Ngā whakapahā/Apologies (Item 2.0)

Moved (David Clendon / Delaraine Armstrong)

That the apologies from Councillor Jack Craw for non-attendance be received.



Confirmation of Minutes - 30 May 2022 (Item 4.1)

Report from Nicky Hansen, PA to GM Community Resilience

Moved (Delaraine Armstrong / Fiona Kemp)

That the minutes of the Joint Climate Change Adaptation Committee meeting held on Monday 30 May 2022 be confirmed as a true and correct record.



Receipt of Action Sheet (Item 5.1)

Report from Nicky Hansen, PA to GM Community Resilience

Moved (Anna Murphy / Delaraine Armstrong)

That the action sheet be received.



Government Reforms Progress Update (Item 6.1)

Report from Victoria Harwood, Pou Tiaki Hapori - GM Community Resilience; Tom FitzGerald, Climate Change Manager and Jan van der Vliet, Natural Hazards Advisor

Moved (David Clendon / Anna Murphy)

1.Updates will be brought to future Climate Change Working party meetings as reforms progress.



Whakamutunga (Conclusion)

The meeting concluded at 1.37pm.